Determining Your Eligibility for an ETA to Canada: A Guide by Falcon Law PC


Traveling to Canada as a foreign national often requires specific travel documents and authorizations, depending on your country of citizenship. One such authorization is the Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA), which allows visa-exempt foreign nationals to visit Canada for tourism, business, or family visits. To ensure a smooth travel experience, it’s essential to determine your eligibility for an ETA before planning your trip. In this legal blog, Falcon Law PC provides a comprehensive guide on ETA eligibility criteria and how to assess whether you qualify for this travel authorization. For personalized legal support or assistance with your ETA application, please contact Falcon Law PC at 1-877-892-7778 or via email at

Table of Contents

  1. What Is an ETA?
  2. ETA Eligibility Criteria
  3. Assessing Your Eligibility
  4. Ineligible for an ETA?
  5. Contact Falcon Law PC

What Is an ETA?

The Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) is an entry requirement for visa-exempt foreign nationals traveling to Canada by air. It is electronically linked to your passport and is a mandatory document for travelers from visa-exempt countries. The ETA is designed to screen travelers before they arrive in Canada and ensure they meet the necessary entry requirements.

ETA Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for an ETA, you must meet the following criteria:

  1. Citizenship: You must be a citizen of a visa-exempt country. Visa-exempt countries include many European, Caribbean, and Pacific nations, among others.
  2. Valid Passport: You must hold a valid passport. Ensure that your passport is not expired and will remain valid for the duration of your intended stay in Canada.
  3. Air Travel: You must be traveling to Canada by air. The ETA is not required if you are entering Canada by land (e.g., by car) or sea (e.g., by cruise ship).
  4. Travel Purpose: You must intend to visit Canada for one of the following purposes: tourism, business, or family visits.

Assessing Your Eligibility

To assess your eligibility for an ETA, follow these steps:

  1. Citizenship Check: Determine if you are a citizen of a visa-exempt country. You can find a list of visa-exempt countries on the official website of the Government of Canada.
  2. Valid Passport: Ensure that your passport is valid and will remain so for the duration of your planned stay in Canada.
  3. Travel by Air: Confirm that you will be arriving in Canada by air. If you plan to enter Canada by land or sea, you do not need an ETA.
  4. Purpose of Travel: Verify that your travel purpose aligns with one of the accepted categories: tourism, business, or family visits.
  5. Apply for an ETA: If you meet all the eligibility criteria, you can proceed to apply for an ETA through the official website.

Ineligible for an ETA?

If you are not eligible for an ETA or your ETA application is denied, you may need to explore alternative methods of obtaining the necessary travel authorization to enter Canada. Depending on your circumstances, you may need to apply for a visitor visa or another type of entry document.

Contact Falcon Law PC

Navigating travel requirements and immigration procedures can be complex. If you have questions about ETA eligibility or encounter any issues during the application process, Falcon Law PC is here to assist you. Our experienced legal team can provide guidance and support to ensure your travel plans to Canada go smoothly. Please contact us at 1-877-892-7778 or via email at for personalized assistance with your ETA application or any other immigration-related matters. Your journey to Canada should be worry-free, and we are here to help make that possible.

For inquiries or further assistance, please contact us using the information below.

Talk to us now at

Book a consultation fast and easy